A Grand Adventure Completion

May 07 Saturday San Diego

I have pulled an “all-nighter” to sail the 50 miles from Ensenada, and my sunrise arrival at the Coronado Islands marks my return into the United States of America.   I last passed this spot at the beginning of the 2015 Baja Ha-Ha rally on October 25, 2015. Technically I have just completed my own “Grand Adventure with Raven’s Dance” that I wanted to do. Any sense of celebration is muted by my mixed feelings and tiredness.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
San Diego Yacht Club
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Shelter Island Anchorage

 

 

 

 

I anchor at Shelter Island and use the posh San Diego Yacht Club (http://www.sdyc.org/) as my host for Internet. It oozes sailing history.   Dennis Conner, https://www.google.com/#q=dennis+conner  the only person who has ever both lost and won an America’s Cup yacht race, was sponsored by this club. Perhaps San Diego, Annapolis MD, and Newport RI rank as the three mega-centers for sailing and training Olympic-bound sailors in the U.S.

Fortune has smiled on me again. I met up with Captain Jim McCarthy, s.v Double Angel,   https://svdoubleangel.wordpress.com/  who helped me with the lay of the land and hot tips on how to avoid dock fees. He is leaving San Diego on Tuesday to sail the pacific Puddle Jump — something we wisely decided not to do with RD. The pull to cross the Pacific is still with me.

But I have more mundane thoughts of logistics — of provisioning and fueling and organizing for the next 1,000 miles between here and Seattle.

4 thoughts on “A Grand Adventure Completion

  1. Howard!

    How to avoid dock fees at the San Diego Yacht Club? HOW?

    Thank you.

    Bernie

    Captain Bernie Weiss AtlanticYachtDelivery.com 203.969.5936

    On May 8, 2016 3:32 PM, “GrandAdventuresAboardRavensDance” wrote:

    > Captain Howard posted: “May 07 Saturday San Diego I have pulled an > “all-nighter” to sail the 50 miles from Ensenada, and my sunrise arrival at > the Coronado Islands marks my return into the United States of America. I > last passed this spot at the beginning of the 2015 Baja H” >

    Like

  2. Hey Sailor Man,
    Welcome back to the US of A. I have been following your travels but I’ve been on the road myself sop haven’t always had wifi. I’ll write more later. Diana

    Like

  3. Howard… As the Beatles song goes….”Back in the US. Back in the USSAAAAA””…. Welcome home!

    Patrick Edwards Office/Cell: 602-295-2558

    Like

  4. Welcome back Howie. Bittersweet isn’t it. Like not being able to wait to come home from college,then getting home and immediately wondering why the hell am I here. Carlee

    Like

Leave a Reply

