Roza Cove

March 17 Thursday Roza Cove

I awoke at Roza Cove in what the guide book advises is “THE best cruising ground on Pacific Mexico.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After breakfast I took the dinghy on a long trip examining the vertical cliffs that make up the shore.   These exposed cliffs were once a seething cauldron of molten magma deep within a liquid earth.

0317_EspiratuSantose_6735 0317_EspiratuSantose_6723 0317_EspiratuSantose_6717-1

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
One clinging tree takes root in the cliff

I found a particularly protected area, tied the dinghy to a rock and went snorkeling among coral and fish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
View at snorkeling level
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Raven’s Dance waits patiently at anchor
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Look closelly for a pelican

 

I waited for the 2 pm wind to show up, but unbeknownst to me it was hours late. Will I ever learn the unpredictability of this weather?  So I made the 5 mile trip to my next cove, El Cardonal, arbitrarily chosen. It has its own unique colorations.

Tomorrow I plan to explore the wall and beach. For now I’m enjoying reading and relaxation that I’ve seldom known. And the Guide Book is correct!

After dinner I watched a second-rate Disney movie “Cheetah”. Bad acting and corny plot.   I wouldn’t have finished it except for the striking African wildlife shots.

Maybe Africa will be next winter’s retreat from the Seattle drizzle.

Then 15-20 knots of wind from the West blew straight down the mouth of my cove. The seas began to kick up 6 to 8 feet with a short fetch that pitched RD like a riding bull. The last weather report (in La Paz) promised “no significant weather event” for the next five days. Once again the configuration of the Sea of Cortez gives rise to unpredictable weather. I consider this a significant weather event! I let out additional chain rode And I set two anchor drag alarms, and sleep lightly while waiting to spring into action when one goes off. However the anchor holds and my only loss is a good night’s sleep.   I’ll have an extra cup of coffee and trick my body into thinking it slept well.

Leave a Reply

