Safe Harbor – without motor

The day dawned with more chaos struggling to get RD into Ixtapa Marina. In the morning they told me the marina was closed for dredging. When I told them I as in distress they disclosed that the marina is open for one hour each day – from one to two pm.  Initially the port captain promised me panga support, but they had a change of heart and a staff change at noon and rescinded their promise.  And invited me to go away. I continued using the magic word, “distress” and asserting that I was going to sail in and repeated my request for panga support. The conversation ended when the unsympathetic dock master said as sharply as she could:

Do not sail in here; it is dangerous.

For reasons unknown to me I was undaunted.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ixtapa Marina
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ixtapa Marina
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Raven’s Dance at the dock
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ixtapa Marina

I sailed through the swells and made several turns (beam to downwind and back to beam reach) and to my pleasant surprise found several staff and friends at the dock waiting for my arrival. I furled the genoa in time to be an easy “catch.”  It was a near-perfect downwind landing; and another no scratch day.

So RD is “made fast” at the end dock   I’ve been single handing and up for about 60 hours with only naps for sleep.  Success trumps adversity once again.  Or is it better to be lucky than good?  Once in awhile you need both.

As I thanked my welcoming party, I noticed that sweat, dry throat, relief, gratitude and a bit pride mixed in equal emotions.

I found the best diesel mechanic in North America:  Abel was his name.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Abel
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Abel at work in the engine room

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I recovered, this is what Ixtapa began to look like.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bankrupt lighthouse restaurant
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bankrupt lighthouse restaurant
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ixtapa marina
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ixtapa marina
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ixtapa Marina dock
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ixtapa restaurant row
4 thoughts on “Safe Harbor – without motor

  1. They just started dredging again at Marina Ixtapa, Feb 8, 2017 and it will last 90 days. Only open one hour a day, 1 to 2 PM, or before 7AM or after 6PM. You did great coming in there under sail only. The entrance has big swells, narrow entry between rocks and lots of turbulence. Scary enough under power!.

    Like

Leave a Reply

